Bank Job News

Delhi University elections: ABVP wins 3 seats, NSUI bags vice-president post

New Delhi, September 24, 2023 – The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has emerged victorious in the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections, securing three out of the four central panel posts, as per the results announced after vote counting concluded on Saturday evening.

In a closely-watched contest, Tushar Dedha of ABVP clinched the DUSU President’s post, defeating his rival Hitesh Gulia from the National Students Union of India (NSUI). Aparajita, also representing ABVP, secured the position of Secretary of the Students’ Union, while Sachin Baisla was elected as the Joint Secretary.

On the other side, the NSUI candidate Abhi Dahiya emerged victorious as the Vice President.

The elections took place on Friday, continuing the traditional head-to-head battle between ABVP and NSUI. A total of twenty-four candidates vied for the four prestigious positions in the elections.

For the central panel elections, held at 52 colleges and departments, Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) were utilized, while college union polls were conducted using paper ballots. The voter turnout reached 42 percent, with nearly one lakh eligible students participating in the DUSU polls.

It’s worth noting that the last DUSU elections occurred in 2019, where ABVP also secured three out of the four central panel seats, mirroring their recent success.

The results mark a significant moment in the ongoing student politics at Delhi University, with ABVP consolidating its dominance while NSUI continues to hold its ground in this prestigious institution.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top